Sara Johnston

Sara Johnston is an Aboriginal teacher who was appointed to Rutherford Public School as an Aboriginal Scholarship Recipient in 2009. Sara completed a Bachelor of Education/Bachelor of Arts at University of Newcastle and in 2012, Sara completed a Master of Education majoring in Aboriginal Education and two minors of Boys Education and Language Acquisition. Sara has been a class teacher but in 2017, she worked in an Assistant Principal's position where she supported teachers 3-6 to ensure that literacy and numeracy lessons exhibit high expectations and have Aboriginal Perspectives incorporated. During this project, Sara worked with an Aboriginal SLSO to support all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students across the school in a variety of ways and facilitated cultural programs with the help of the school's Aboriginal Education Team which includes more parents than teachers.

In 2018, Sara was a successful applicant of the Assistant Principal position at Telarah PS which has approximately 25% Aboriginal students. Here, she not only works with teachers to embed Aboriginal perspectives into all KLAs, but also advocates for Aboriginal students and targeted programs to improve academic outcomes for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Students.

Sara is very active in the wider community, having been the President of Maitland Local AECG. Sara joined the AECG when it was re-established in 2010 and she quickly became the Secretary. Sara has been a member of the executive and delegate to the Hunter Region AECG Meetings since 2010 and was elected as President in February, 2017. Sara is still active in the AECG, representing the AECG on merit selection panels and at Local Management Group Meetings and has been pivotal in the implementation and delivery of Connecting to Country and the Pathways Awards.

Sara is also a dedicated unionist, currently holding the position of Federation Representative at Telarah PS and President of Maitland Teachers Association. She also has years of experience as an Aboriginal Councillor, Aboriginal Observer and Executive Member for the NSWTF Executive, Aboriginal Observer at AEU Annual Conference and is a participant in the New Educators Network (NEN).